Dairy Goats

The Dairy Goat Society of Australia (DGSA) was formed in 1935 and is dedicated to the breeding and promotion of pedigreed dairy goats. Its main objectives are:

  • fostering the breeding of pedigree dairy goats
  • promotion of dairy goats and their products
  • maintenance of a stud registration system
  • provision of services to its members

Dairy goat breeds – in Australia there are currently six breeds of dairy goat:

  • Saanen
  • Toggenburg
  • British Alpine
  • Anglo Nubian
  • Australian Melaan
  • Australian Brown

Each breed has its own special characteristics and personality traits. They are suited to different climates and environments. Different breeds thrive in different parts of Australia.
Further information about the Dairy Goats Society of Australia can be found by clicking the DGSA Link.

Information about the Championships can be found in the schedule by clicking on the schedule tab. The schedule provides the following:

  • Contact details
  • Details of where to send completed entry forms
  • Closing date for entries
  • Conditions of entry
  • Entry fees
  • Details on how to pay entry fees
  • Time of penning of animals
  • Time of judging for Does and Bucks
  • Class grouping and when they are born

You will need to complete:

  • Entry form and NLIS entering form (one document)
  • Participant risk acknowledgement and waiver form
  • Animal handler form
  • Goat health statement
  • Johne’s disease form (if applicable)

All entries must be accompanied by a completed entry form and a signed waiver form.



Entry form

NLIS movement

Show Health Declaration